FIFA 2009 World Player Of The Year Shortlist

Ronaldo was deemed the best last year, but will he be called the best again?

Who is the best player in the world at the moment? It doesn’t matter what you think; it’s up to the managers. But tell us what you think anyway!

The FIFA World Player of the Year is an association football award given annually to the player who is thought to be the best in the world, based on votes by coaches and captains of international teams. In a voting system based on positional voting, each coach gets three votes, worth five points, three points and one point, and the winners are ordered based on total number of points. The male award has been criticized for focusing mainly on players from the UEFA Champions League and largely ignoring players from the South American Copa Libertadores, which has produced more world club champions than Europe. The international leagues of the remaining confederations are also completely ignored. Alongside the Ballon D’ Or, the FIFA World Player of the Year is the most prestigious individual award available to any player. This year, whoever wins the Ballon D’ Or will most likely win the FIFA World Player of the Year, due to the fact that all the players in the shortlist play professionally for European based clubs. Here is the 23 player shortlist for the FIFA World Player of the Year.

Michael Ballack Chelsea 33
Gianluigi Buffon Juventus 31
Iker Casillas Real Madrid 28
Diego Juventus/Werder Bremen 24
Didier Drogba Chelsea 31
Michael Essien Chelsea 26
Samuel Eto’o Inter/Barcelona 28
Steven Gerrard Liverpool 29
Thierry Henry Barcelona 32
Zlatan Ibrahimovic Barcelona/Inter 28
Andres Iniesta Barcelona 25
Kaka Real Madrid/AC Milan 27
Frank Lampard Chelsea 31
Luis Fabiano Sevilla 28
Lionel Messi Barcelona 22
Carles Puyol Barcelona 31
Franck Ribery Bayern Munich 26
Cristiano Ronaldo Real Madrid/Man Utd 24
Wayne Rooney Manchester United 24
John Terry Chelsea 28
Fernando Torres Liverpool 25
David Villa Valencia 27
Xavi Barcelona 29

fifa, news

Posted on November 01, 2009

Comments on “FIFA 2009 World Player of the Year Shortlist”

  1. Aimun commented on April 12, 2010 Reply

    come on Frank ribery or wayen rooney or didier drogba

  2. Ivan commented on December 2, 2009 Reply

    No Arshavin??

Post a Comment